About the Rotary Club of Belize

For over 60 years of active life, the Rotary Club of Belize has completed numerous projects in all walks of life. Our members and volunteers dedicate their time to ensure a better community for all.

Vision & Mission Statments


We provide Service to others, promote Integrity, and advance world Understanding, Goodwill, and Peace through our Fellowship of business, professional, and community Leaders.


Together, we see a world where People unite and take action to Create lasting Change — across the globe, in our communities, and in ourselves.

History of the Rotary Club of Belize

The Rotary Club of Belize was chartered on 7th July 1957. Eleven founding members were inducted on that date by District Governor Jimmy Butler of Panama, and our sponsoring club was the Rotary Club of San Pedro Sula, Honduras. Today, having completed 50 years of service, we have a diverse, energetic membership of 42 members.

The Rotary Clubs in Belize are part of Rotary District 4250, comprising Belize, Honduras and Guatemala. Our club is the oldest club in Belize, but not the only one. The Rotary Clubs of Ambergris Caye, Belize Sunrise, Belmopan, Corozal, Dangriga, Orange Walk, Placencia, Punta Gorda and San Ignacio are the other nine clubs distributed throughout the country. All ten clubs take pride in serving their communities and their country through club projects and vocational commitments by their individual members. The Rotary Club of Belize has the honour of having had four of its members serve as District Governor: John Searle (1999-2000) and Salvador “Junior” Espat (2004-2005, Rotary International’s Centennial Year), Dr, Marcelo Coyi (2009-2010), and Rene Villanueva Sr. (2015-2016).

Past Rotary Presidents

1957/58Joe Crocy
1958/59Russel S. Grant
1959/60Tom Tattersfield
1960/61Mike Hoare
1961/62Charnock Wilson
1962/63N. Lewis
1963/64W. Ford Young
1964/65Tony Frith
 Eric Bowen
1965/66Lee Anderson
1967/68Benny Feinstein
1968/69Edgar “Bally” Gegg
1969/70Gordon Roe
1970/71Eugene Robinson
1971/72Johnny Searle
1972/73Ros Chlup
1973/74Salvador Espat
1974/75John Crump
1975/76Jock Hunter
1976/77Urban Faria
1977/78Paul Hunt
1978/79Salvador Espat
1979/80Larry Cain
1980/81Fr. Herbert Panton
1981/82Johnny Searle
1982/83Paul Hunt
1983/84David Heredia
1984/85Mike Williams
1985/86Leo Vasquez
 Roberto Stanley
1986/87Francis Castillo
1987/88Jose Matus
1988/89Ernesto Vasquez
1989/90Doug Erskine
1990/91Arsenio Burgos
1991/92John Woods
1992/93Robert Usher
1993/94Christopher Roe
1994/95Kent Mcfield
1995/96Abel Lopez
1996/97Ernesto Vasquez
1997/98Dr. Marcelo Coyi
1998/99Tony Flynn
1999/00Yolanda Crombie
2000/01Adrian Roe
2001/02Philip Zuniga
2002/03Kay Menzies
2003/04Rene Villanueva
2004/05Alberto Young
2005/06Sandra McKay
2006/07Ariel Mitchell
2007/08Sandra Bedran
2008/09Ellison Flowers
2009/10Yvette Burks
2010/11Maria Price
2011/12Francis Woods
2012/13Maria Coyi
2013/14Lynn Young
2014/15Errol A. Robateau
2015/16Tessa Usher
2016/17Barry Nowlin
2017/18Jaimala Vasquez
2018/19Robert Usher
2019/20Felix Reyes
2020/21Michael Kelly
2021/22Cynthia Awe
2022/23Karen Bevans
2023/24Katherin Meighan
2024/25Gustavo Garcia

Become A Member Today

Get involved so that we can make an even bigger impact – together!

Scroll to Top